//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Skill sharing: an offer

I’ve been thinking about the skills I need for my next job.

My position is this: I like my job at the moment, but it doesn’t give me everything I think I might need in my future career. I’d like to run a small charity, and while I have heaps of management experience, lobbying experience, and parliamentary experience, my knowledge about campaigns is a little slim. Many charities have a campaigning element, especially if they also lobby politicians. So, I’d like to a) find out more, b) get some experience I can put on my CV, and c) help someone else out by being a spare pair of hands. When I do go for a charity management job, I’d like to be able to say that I’ve helped a few campaigning organisations with particular campaigns.

In return, what I can offer is knowledge about parliamentary lobbying, particularly of Conservative and Liberal Democrats. I’ve been running workshops ranging from a day (everything including what a Bill is) to a couple of hours (how to go about contacting particular MPs). I’ve done these at the UK Feminista summer schools and through the Women’s Resource Centre, and I’m running a weekend course at Woodbrooke Quaker Study Centre at the end of 2013.

If you’re a small charity which could benefit from a few days of my parliamentary and management experience, in return for giving me campaign experience, please let me know.

About Jessica

Political and parliamentary engagement for Quakers in Britain

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Welcome to my site

Thank you for visiting my website.

My name is Jessica, and I work for
Quakers in Britain on political
engagement.

If you are interested in contacting
me as a Quaker, email
jessicam@quaker.org.uk

Otherwise, email me in a personal
capacity at
jessica@metheringhamowlett.co.uk

Jess
